4,80,000 people visited this section in last 30 daysApply Online

Get Voucher of Upto ₹ 1,000* on Loans Apply Online

MyLoanCare Customer Ratings - 4.5/5.0 Apply Online

Bank Holiday 2022

May Bank Holiday

Last Updated 22nd May 2022

Date Day Holiday
01 May 2022 Sunday May Day
03 May 2022 Tuesday Eid-ul-Fitr
14 May 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
16 May 2022 Monday Buddha Purnima
28 May 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
GET FREE CREDIT REPORT

Bank Holidays in India

All public and private sector banks remain closed on various public and national holidays. Apart from these holidays, every state has a separate list of state bank holidays. Here is the complete list of bank holidays in the year 2022.

Date Day Holiday
01 January 2022 Saturday New Year Day
08 January 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
15 January 2022 Saturday Pongal
22 January 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
26 January 2022 Wednesday Republic Day
05 February 2022 Saturday Vasant Panchami
12 February 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
22 February 2022 Tuesday Fourth Saturday
01 March 2022 Tuesday Maha Shivaratri
12 March 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
18 March 2022 Friday Holi
26 March 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
09 April 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
10 April 2022 Sunday Ram Navami
13 April 2022 Wednesday Ugadi
14 April 2022 Thursday Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Jayanti
14 April 2022 Thursday Mahavir Jayanti
15 April 2022 Friday Good Friday
23 April 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
01 May 2022 Sunday May Day
03 May 2022 Tuesday Eid-ul-Fitr
14 May 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
16 May 2022 Monday Buddha Purnima
28 May 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 June 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
25 June 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
09 July 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
10 July 2022 Sunday Bakrid/Eid-al-Adha
23 July 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
08 August 2022 Monday Ashura
09 August 2022 Tuesday Muharram
12 August 2022 Friday Raksha Bandhan
13 August 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
15 August 2022 Monday Independence Day
19 August 2022 Friday Janmashthami
27 August 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
01 September 2022 Thursday Nuakhai
10 September 2022 Saturday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti
10 September 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
24 September 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
25 September 2022 Sunday Bathukamma
26 September 2022 Monday Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti
02 October 2022 Sunday Gandhi Jayanti
05 October 2022 Wednesday Vijaya Dashami
08 October 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
09 October 2022 Sunday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
19 October 2022 Wednesday Eid e Milad
22 October 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
08 November 2022 Tuesday Guru Nanak Jayanti
12 November 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
26 November 2022 Saturday Diwali
26 November 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
27 November 2022 Sunday Bhai Dooj
10 December 2022 Saturday Second Saturday
18 December 2022 Sunday Guru Ghasidas Jayanti
24 December 2022 Saturday Fourth Saturday
25 December 2022 Sunday Christmas Day
30 December 2022 Friday U Kiang Nangbah

Types of Bank Holidays

Typically there are two types of bank holidays which are mentioned below:

  • National Holidays:National holidays also known as gazetted holidays are observed across all the states. There are three bank holidays that are included in national holidays which are Republic Day, Independence Day & Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti. It is mandatory for banks and other financial institutions to remain shut on national holidays.
  • Government Holidays:Government holidays are classified as State Government Bank Holidays & Central Government bank holidays. While Central Government bank holidays are observed across the country, the State government bank holidays differ for every state. For instance, Maharashtra Day is a bank holiday for Maharashtra, Goa Liberation Day is a bank holiday in Goa and similarly Haryana Day is a bank holiday in Haryana.

State Government Bank Holidays

Date Day Holiday State
09 January 2022 Sunday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Haryana, Rajasthan
12 January 2022 Wednesday Swami Vivekananda Jayanti West Bengal
13 January 2022 Thursday Bhogi Andhra Pradesh,Telangana
14 January 2022 Friday Maha Bishuba Sankranti Odisha
15 January 2022 Saturday Tusu Puja Assam
15 January 2022 Saturday Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
16 January 2022 Sunday Kanuma Panduga Andhra Pradesh
23 January 2022 Sunday Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha
25 January 2022 Tuesday Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh
25 January 2022 Tuesday Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh
05 February 2022 Saturday Vasant Panchami West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha, Haryana, Punjab
12 February 2022 Saturday Sonam Losar Sikkim
15 February 2022 Tuesday Hazrat Ali birthday Uttar Pradesh
16 February 2022 Wednesday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh
19 February 2022 Saturday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra
20 February 2022 Sunday State Day Mizoram
20 February 2022 Sunday Statehood Day Arunachal Pradesh
04 March 2022 Friday Chapchar Kut Mizoram
05 March 2022 Saturday Panchayatiraj Divas Odisha
22 March 2022 Tuesday Bihar Diwas Bihar
23 March 2022 Wednesday S. Bhagat Singh Martyrdom Day Punjab and Haryana
01 April 2022 Friday Odisha Day Odisha
01 April 2022 Friday Bohag Bihu Assam
02 April 2022 Saturday Gudi Padwa Maharashtra
13 April 2022 Wednesday Ugadi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Maharashtra
14 April 2022 Thursday Maundy Thursday Kerala
14 April 2022 Thursday Bohag Bihu Arunachal Pradesh
14 April 2022 Thursday Ashoka birth anniversary Bihar
14 April 2022 Thursday Vishu Kerala
14 April 2022 Thursday Puthandu Tamil New Year
14 April 2022 Thursday Vaisakh Haryana, Jharkhand, and Punjab
15 April 2022 Friday Bengali New Year West Bengal, Tripura
16 April 2022 Saturday Easter Saturday Nagaland
29 April 2022 Friday Jumatul Bidah Jammu and Kashmir
29 April 2022 Friday Shab-i-Qadr Jammu and Kashmir
01 May 2022 Sunday Maharashtra Day Maharashtra
02 May 2022 Monday Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti Several states
03 May 2022 Tuesday Basava Jayanti Karnataka
09 May 2022 Monday Liberation Day Goa
09 May 2022 Monday Guru Rabindranath Jayanti West Bengal, Tripura
16 May 2022 Monday State Day Sikkim
15 June 2022 Wednesday Raja Sankranti Odisha
01 July 2022 Friday Ratha Yatra Odisha
17 July 2022 Sunday Shaheed Udham Singh Martyrdom Day Haryana and Punjab
24 July 2022 Sunday Bonalu Telangana
31 July 2022 Sunday Hariyali Teej Haryana, Punjab, Chandigarh
12 August 2022 Friday Thiruvonam Kerala
16 August 2022 Tuesday Parsi New Year Maharashtra and Gujarat
28 August 2022 Sunday Ayyankali Jayanthi Rajasthan
05 September 2022 Monday Ramdev Jayanti Rajasthan
09 September 2022 Friday Indra Jatra Sikkim
10 September 2022 Saturday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala
30 October 2022 Sunday Chhath Puja Jharkhand, Bihar
01 November 2022 Tuesday Haryana Day Haryana
01 November 2022 Tuesday Kannada Rajyotsava Karnataka
01 November 2022 Tuesday Kerala Piravi Kerala
01 November 2022 Tuesday Puducherry Liberation Day Puducherry
26 November 2022 Saturday Lakshmi Puja West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha

Bank Holidays on the Second and Fourth Saturdays

In addition to the holidays mentioned above, banks also observe holidays on every second and fourth Saturday of the month and even on every Sunday. In case there are five Saturdays in a month, banks are working for the same. The list of second and fourth Saturday in the year 2022 are mentioned below:

  • 08 January 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 22 January 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 12 February 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 22 February 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 12 March 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 26 March 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 09 April 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 23 April 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 14 May 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 28 May 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 11 June 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 25 June 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 09 July 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 23 July 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 13 August 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 27 August 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 10 September 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 24 September 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 08 October 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 22 October 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 12 November 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 26 November 2022 - 4th Saturday
  • 10 December 2022 - 2nd Saturday
  • 24 December 2022 - 4th Saturday

RTGS / NEFT Bank Holidays 2022

The Reserve Bank of India maintains an RTGS and NEFT system of electronically transferring funds from one bank to another. Individuals can transfer funds using these modes except on the RTGS and NEFT bank holidays mentioned as below:

RTGS Bank Holidays 2022

Date Holiday
01 April 2022 Annual closing of banks
14 April 2022 Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti
15 April 2022 Good Friday
02 May 2022 Ramzan Id (Id- ul- Fitr)
10 July 2022 Bakri Id (ld- uI-Zuha)
15 August 2022 Independence Day
02 October 2022 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
09 October 2022 Lakshmi Puja / Milad-un-Nabi
25 December 2022 Christmas

NEFT Bank Holidays 2022

FAQs

What are 2022 Bank Holidays?

All public sector banks and private sector banks remain closed on national holidays, which are Independence Day, Republic Day and Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti. Along with that bank also observes government holidays, some of which are state-specific and other holidays remain common throughout the states. Further, banks also remain closed on Second and fourth Saturdays and all Sundays.

How many bank holidays are there in a year?

Bank holidays do not remain constant every year. Also, the number of bank holidays vary from state to state. However, there are three bank holidays which are observed by every bank, which are Independence Day, Republic Day and Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti.

Is New Year a bank holiday?

No, all banks do not remain closed on the new year. It is a Central Government bank restricted holiday.

Can we do banking transactions through NEFT or RTGS?

While most of the banks allow you to do NEFT or RTGS fund transfer through internet banking on bank holidays. However, NEFT/RTGS transactions by visiting the bank branch cannot be completed on RTGS or NEFT bank holidays.


Notification ×
  • Home Loan

    Home Loan at all-time low rates starting at 6.50%. Cashback of up to ₹ 1,000

    Apply Now
  • Personal Loan

    Instant Personal Loan starting at 10.25% with Cashback of up to ₹ 1,000.

    Check Offers
  • Gold Loan

    Instant Gold Loan starting at 9.00% with Cashback of up to ₹ 500

    Apply Now
  • Loan Against Property

    Best Loan Against Property Offers starting @ 6.90%. Cashback of up to ₹ 1,000*.

    Apply Now
  • Business Loan

    Collateral Free Business Loan Rates starting at 14.00% with Overdraft facility.

    Apply Now
  • Fixed Deposit

    AAA rated FDs with returns as high as 7.05%.

    Invest Now
Our News - May 2022
  • 2022-05-12 : PAN and Aadhaar Now Mandatory for Cash Deposits
    As per the government notification, you must quote PAN or Aadhaar number if the cash deposits and withdrawals in a financial year exceed Rs 20 lakh. In addition, you require both Aadhaar and PAN for the opening of a current account or cash credit account with a bank.
  • 2022-01-03 : Covid Vaccination Opens up for Kids 15-18 Years
    India has launched a special Covid-19 vaccination drive for children in the 15 to 18 age group. Currently, the centre has administered Covaxin Vaccine.
  • 2021-12-16 : Draft for Linking Aadhaar & Voter ID Cleared
    The Government has cleared the Aadhaar Card and Voter ID linkage draft to remove the anomalies in duplication of entries in the electoral roll.
  • 2021-10-19 : UIDAI to Host Aadhaar Hackathon 2021
    Unique Identification Authority of India will be hosting a first-ever event Hackathon titled "Aadhaar Hackathon 2021" from October 28 midnight to October 31 2021. The event will target the young innovators who are still at various Engineering institutes and eager to step into the real world.
  • 2021-09-29 : UIDAI Slashes Aadhaar Authentication Charge
    UIDAI has slashed the price for authentication of Aadhaar to Rs 3 from Rs 20 per instance. The move will enable entities to leverage their infrastructure to provide ease of living through various services and benefits.
*Terms and conditions apply. Credit at sole discretion of lender, which is subject to credit appraisal, eligibility check, rates, charges and terms. Information displayed is indicative and collected from public sources. Read More
Loader
Please wait while your information is being processed...