MyLoanCare is a FREE of cost service for borrowers

Get Cashback of Upto ₹ 1,000* on Loans Apply Online

MyLoanCare Customer Ratings - 4.5/5.0

Bank Holiday 2021

March Bank Holiday

Last Updated 07th Mar 2021

Date Day Holiday
11 March 2021 Thursday Maha Shivaratri
13 March 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
27 March 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
29 March 2021 Monday Holi

Bank Holidays in India

All public and private sector banks remain closed on various public and national holidays. Apart from these holidays, every state has a separate list of state bank holidays. Here is the complete list of bank holidays in the year 2021.

Date Day Holiday
01 January 2021 Friday New Year Day
09 January 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
14 January 2021 Thursday Pongal
23 January 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
26 January 2021 Tuesday Republic Day
13 February 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
16 February 2021 Tuesday Vasant Panchami
27 February 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 March 2021 Thursday Maha Shivaratri
13 March 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
27 March 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
29 March 2021 Monday Holi
02 April 2021 Friday Good Friday
10 April 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
13 April 2021 Tuesday Ugadi
14 April 2021 Wednesday Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Jayanti
21 April 2021 Wednesday Ram Navami
24 April 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
25 April 2021 Sunday Mahavir Jayanti
01 May 2021 Saturday May Day
08 May 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
12 May 2021 Wednesday Eid-ul-Fitr
22 May 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
26 May 2021 Wednesday Buddha Purnima
12 June 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
26 June 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
10 July 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
21 July 2021 Wednesday Bakrid/Eid-al-Adha
24 July 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
14 August 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
15 August 2021 Sunday Independence Day
19 August 2021 Thursday Ashura
19 August 2021 Thursday Muharram
22 August 2021 Sunday Raksha Bandhan
23 August 2021 Monday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti
28 August 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 August 2021 Monday Janmashthami
11 September 2021 Saturday Nuakhai
11 September 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
25 September 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
02 October 2021 Saturday Gandhi Jayanti
06 October 2021 Wednesday Bathukamma
07 October 2021 Thursday Maharaja Agrasen Jayanti
09 October 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
15 October 2021 Friday Vijaya Dashami
19 October 2021 Tuesday Eid e Milad
20 October 2021 Wednesday Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti
23 October 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
04 November 2021 Thursday Diwali
06 November 2021 Saturday Bhai Dooj
13 November 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
19 November 2021 Friday Guru Nanak Jayanti
27 November 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
11 December 2021 Saturday Second Saturday
18 December 2021 Saturday Guru Ghasidas Jayanti
25 December 2021 Saturday Christmas Day
25 December 2021 Saturday Fourth Saturday
30 December 2021 Thursday U Kiang Nangbah

Types of Bank Holidays

Typically there are two types of bank holidays which are mentioned below:

  1. National Holidays:National holidays also known as gazetted holidays are observed across all the states. There are three bank holidays that are included in national holidays which are Republic Day, Independence Day & Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti. It is mandatory for banks and other financial institutions to remain shut on national holidays.
  2. Government Holidays:Government holidays are classified as State Government Bank Holidays & Central Government bank holidays. While Central Government bank holidays are observed across the country, the State government bank holidays differ for every state. For instance, Maharashtra Day is a bank holiday for Maharashtra, Goa Liberation Day is a bank holiday in Goa and similarly Haryana Day is a bank holiday in Haryana.

State Government Bank Holidays

Date Day Holiday State
02 January 2021 Saturday Mannam Jayanthi Kerala
05 January 2021 Tuesday State Day Mizoram
12 January 2021 Tuesday Swami Vivekananda Jayanti West Bengal
14 January 2021 Thursday Bhogi Andhra Pradesh,Telangana
14 January 2021 Thursday Maha Bishuba Sankranti Odisha
15 January 2021 Friday Kanuma Panduga Andhra Pradesh
15 January 2021 Friday Tusu Puja Assam
15 January 2021 Friday Thiruvalluvar Day Tamil Nadu, Puducherry
20 January 2021 Wednesday Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Haryana, Rajasthan
23 January 2021 Saturday Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Jayanti Assam, West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha
25 January 2021 Monday Himachal Day Himachal Pradesh
12 February 2021 Friday Sonam Losar Sikkim
16 February 2021 Tuesday Vasant Panchami West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha, Haryana, Punjab
19 February 2021 Friday Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Jayanti Maharashtra
25 February 2021 Thursday Hazrat Ali birthday Uttar Pradesh
27 February 2021 Saturday Guru Ravidas Jayanti Punjab, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Chandigarh
05 March 2021 Friday Chapchar Kut Mizoram
05 March 2021 Friday Panchayatiraj Divas Odisha
22 March 2021 Monday Bihar Diwas Bihar
23 March 2021 Tuesday S. Bhagat Singh Martyrdom Day Punjab and Haryana
01 April 2021 Thursday Maundy Thursday Kerala
01 April 2021 Thursday Odisha Day Odisha
12 April 2021 Monday Bengali New Year West Bengal, Tripura
13 April 2021 Tuesday Ugadi Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Karnataka, Maharashtra
13 April 2021 Tuesday Bohag Bihu Assam
13 April 2021 Tuesday Gudi Padwa Maharashtra
13 April 2021 Tuesday Bohag Bihu Arunachal Pradesh
14 April 2021 Wednesday Ashoka birth anniversary Bihar
14 April 2021 Wednesday Vishu Kerala
14 April 2021 Wednesday Puthandu Tamil New Year
16 April 2021 Friday Ramdev Jayanti Rajasthan
21 April 2021 Wednesday Vaisakh Haryana, Jharkhand, and Punjab
01 May 2021 Saturday Maharashtra Day Maharashtra
01 May 2021 Saturday Easter Saturday Nagaland
07 May 2021 Friday Jumatul Bidah Jammu and Kashmir
09 May 2021 Sunday Liberation Day Goa
09 May 2021 Sunday Shab-i-Qadr Jammu and Kashmir
09 May 2021 Sunday Guru Rabindranath Jayanti West Bengal, Tripura
14 May 2021 Friday Basava Jayanti Karnataka
14 May 2021 Friday Maharshi Parasuram Jayanti Several states
16 May 2021 Sunday State Day Sikkim
15 June 2021 Tuesday Raja Sankranti Odisha
12 July 2021 Monday Ratha Yatra Odisha
31 July 2021 Saturday Shaheed Udham Singh Martyrdom Day Haryana and Punjab
02 August 2021 Monday Bonalu Telangana
11 August 2021 Wednesday Hariyali Teej Haryana, Punjab, Chandigarh
12 August 2021 Thursday Thiruvonam Kerala
16 August 2021 Monday Parsi New Year Maharashtra and Gujarat
20 August 2021 Friday Statehood Day Himachal Pradesh
20 August 2021 Friday Statehood Day Arunachal Pradesh
22 August 2021 Sunday Indra Jatra Sikkim
23 August 2021 Monday Sree Narayana Guru Jayanti Kerala
28 August 2021 Saturday Ayyankali Jayanthi Rajasthan
01 November 2021 Monday Haryana Day Haryana
01 November 2021 Monday Kannada Rajyotsava Karnataka
01 November 2021 Monday Kerala Piravi Kerala
01 November 2021 Monday Puducherry Liberation Day Puducherry
04 November 2021 Thursday Lakshmi Puja West Bengal, Tripura, Odisha
10 November 2021 Wednesday Chhath Puja Jharkhand, Bihar

Bank Holidays on the Second and Fourth Saturdays

In addition to the holidays mentioned above, banks also observe holidays on every second and fourth Saturday of the month and even on every Sunday. In case there are five Saturdays in a month, banks are working for the same. The list of second and fourth Saturday in the year 2020 are mentioned below:

  • 09 January 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 23 January 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 13 February 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 27 February 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 13 March 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 27 March 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 10 April 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 24 April 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 08 May 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 22 May 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 12 June 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 26 June 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 10 July 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 24 July 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 14 August 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 28 August 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 11 September 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 25 September 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 09 October 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 23 October 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 13 November 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 27 November 2021 - 4th Saturday
  • 11 December 2021 - 2nd Saturday
  • 25 December 2021 - 4th Saturday

RTGS / NEFT Bank Holidays 2021

The Reserve Bank of India maintains an RTGS and NEFT system of electronically transferring funds from one bank to another. Individuals can transfer funds using these modes except on the RTGS and NEFT bank holidays mentioned as below:

RTGS Bank Holidays 2021

Date Holiday
01 April 2021 Annual closing of banks
02 April 2021 Good Friday
14 April 2021 Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Jayanti
14 May 2021 Ramzan Id (Id- ul- Fitr)
21 July 2021 Bakri Id (ld- uI-Zuha)
15 August 2021 Independence Day
02 October 2021 Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
30 October 2021 Lakshmi Puja / Milad-un-Nabi
25 December 2021 Christmas

NEFT Bank Holidays 2021

FAQs

What are 2021 Bank Holidays?

All public sector banks and private sector banks remain closed on national holidays, which are Independence Day, Republic Day and Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti. Along with that bank also observes government holidays, some of which are state-specific and other holidays remain common throughout the states. Further, banks also remain closed on Second and fourth Saturdays and all Sundays.

How many bank holidays are there in a year?

Bank holidays do not remain constant every year. Also, the number of bank holidays vary from state to state. However, there are three bank holidays which are observed by every bank, which are Independence Day, Republic Day and Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti.

Is New Year a bank holiday?

No, all banks do not remain closed on the new year. It is a Central Government bank restricted holiday.

Can we do banking transactions through NEFT or RTGS?

While most of the banks allow you to do NEFT or RTGS fund transfer through internet banking on bank holidays. However, NEFT/RTGS transactions by visiting the bank branch cannot be completed on RTGS or NEFT bank holidays.

1 May I help you...

Notification ×
  • Home Loan

    Home Loan starting at 6.70%. Cashback of up to ₹ 1,000.

    Apply Now
  • Personal Loan

    Instant Personal Loan starting at 10.40% with Cashback of up to ₹ 1,000 .

    Check Offers
  • Fixed Deposit

    AAA rated FDs with returns as high as 7.25%.

    Invest Now
  • Savings Account

    Best offers on Savings Account Online with High Returns.

    Open Account
  • Gold Loan

    Instant Gold Loan starting at 9.50% with Cashback of up to ₹ 500.

    Apply Now
  • Loan Against Property

    Best Loan Against Property Offers starting @ 7.50%. Cashback of up to ₹ 1,000*.

    Apply Now
  • Credit Card

    Get amazing offers, discounts and welcome gift vouchers on SBI Credit Cards.

    Apply Now
  • Business Loan

    Collateral Free Business Loan Rates starting at 13.50%. Overdraft facility available.

    Apply Now
Our News - Mar 2021
  • 2021-02-25 : PAN and Aadhaar card linking deadline around the corner
    The IT Department has set 31st March 2021 as the Aadhaar PAN Linking deadline. Failing to do this will lead to PAN card becoming inoperative, provided there is no extension in PAN Aadhaar Linking the last date.
  • 2021-02-24 : People above 60 years can self register for Covid vaccination
    People above 60 years of age or with comorbidities can self-register for Covid-19 vaccination using the mobile application. They can decide where they want to get the vaccination done. This decision has been taken to strengthen phase 2 of the covid vaccination process.
  • 2021-02-09 : New facility to make Aadhar Card in Post Office introduced
    To ease the Aadhar Card process for the general public, the Government has allowed the Post Office to make the Aadhar card. Uttar Pradesh has become the first state to initiate this process.
  • 2020-11-23 : GST Council advises Aadhaar-like registration for False invoice issue
    The GST Council has recommended that the registration process be tightened to root out all issuing bogus invoices from knowledgeable sources. The committee recommended the implementation of an Aadhaar-like registration process under the GST regime for new applicants. Under this after record authentication, a new registration can be done digitally with live photographs and biometrics.
  • 2020-11-17 : Order PVC Aadhar cards using one number
    UIDAI released an Aadhaar card in the form of polyvinyl chloride (PVC). You would be required to hold the PVC Aadhaar card in your pocket much like your debit or credit card or PAN card. The Aadhaar is now more robust, easy to hold, easily verifiable offline, fitted with the new security features. UIDAI enables Indians to obtain their Aadhaar letter reprint on a PVC card by paying nominal fees of approximately ₹ 50.
*Terms and conditions apply. Credit at sole discretion of lender subject to credit appraisal, eligibility check, rates, charges and terms. Information displayed is indicative and from collected from public sources. Read More
Loader
Please wait while your information is being processed...